2019 Junior #TrackNats open Festival

2019 Junior #TrackNats open Festival

Australia’s best cyclists have begun to descend on Brisbane for the 2019 Cycling Australia Junior Track National Championships.

For the first time, Cycling Australia is excited to present three Track National Championships as part of a two-week period in conjunction with the Brisbane Cycling Festival.

To be held at one of the best venues in the world named after the very best, home-town hero Anna Meares, over eight days, and across three Championships, we will witness some of the world’s very best chasing national glory and the coveted green and gold jersey from under 15s, to the very best of our elite Olympians, and through all our great Masters categories.

2019 #TrackNats Overview

  • Juniors: 28-31 March
  • Elite/19: 3-6 April
  • Masters: 7-10 April

Visit the complete schedule here

Junior #TrackNats

The Juniors will kick start the Festival with 105 cyclists from all states and territories contesting 28 events over four days.

  • Thursday 28 March 12pm: JM15 2000m Individual Pursuit, JM15 500m Time Trial, JM17 3000m Team Pursuit, JM17 Sprint, JW15 500m Time Trial, JW15 7.5km Points Race, JW17 3000m Team Pursuit, JW17 Sprint, 
  • Friday 29 March 12pm: JM15 7.5km Points Race, JM15 Sprint, JM17 2000m Individual Pursuit, JM17 500m Time Trial, JW15 Sprint, JW17 2000m Individual Pursuit, JW17 500m Time Trial
  • Saturday 30 March 12pm: JM17 12.5km Points Race, JM17 Team Sprint, JW15 2000m Individual Pursuit, JW17 12.5km Points Race, JW17 Team Sprint
  • Sunday 31 March 10am: JM15 5km Scratch Race, JM15 Keirin, JM17 7.5 Scratch Race, JM17 Keirin, JW15 5km Scratch Race, JW15 Keirin, JW17 5km Scratch Race, JW17 Keirin

See the complete schedule here.


Riders to watch

  • Jai Fielke (SA) comes to track nationals eager to join a long progression of South Australian track endurance athletes who have gone onto great things. Taking out every event at the SA junior track titles – he’s keen to progress this to the Nationals.
  • Tess Wight (SA) Wight surprised the field when she won the U15 criterium at the 2018 Junior Road Nationals and will be keen to show that this was not a one-off as she looks for medals across several events.
  • Dalton Stretton (TAS) Second Track Nationals for Dalton who is new to the sport and has dominated at state level winning the sprint, TT & IP.
  • Renae Philpott (TAS) Has improved throughout the summer carnival series and dominated with wins in the sprint, TT & scratch race at States.
  • Alessia McCaig (VIC) The Bendigo Junior will take great confidence from her sprint and keirin gold at State level as she spearheads a strong Team Victoria.
  • Max Leiner (VIC) Max is on track to defend his individual pursuit crown and as an experienced team member, he’ll lead by example as a true racer.
  • Daniel Barber (NSW) Dubbo’s Danny Barber is the reigning NJTS champion. He’s the first under-17 Australian to ride 200 metres in under 11 seconds, and he’ll be expecting more great things this weekend.
  • Keira Will (NSW) Will headlines the NSW under-15 squad as the overall NJTS champion. The talented youngster from Sydney will be hoping to spend more time on the podium at the national level.
  • Meg Marker (NT) Flying the flag for the top-end, Meg made her mark with a four-medal haul at the 2018 Junior Championships in Melbourne with two silver and two bronze medals!
  • John Carter (WA) John dominated the 2019 WA U17 State Titles, taking the top step on the podium in the ITT, Keirin, Match Sprint, Scratch and Points races. WA are hoping John can emulate this form against the national competition.
  • Sally Carter (WA) Sally is another powerful WA rider hoping to excel at the Nationals in the U15 Junior category. The reigning U15 WA State ITT, Keirin, IP, Match Sprint, Scratch and Points race champion, Carter is a formidable U15 talent.
  • Lauren Bates (ACT) One of the front runners of the NJTS in 2018/19, the very determined and competitive Canberra Cycling Club rider heads into Track Nationals with a string of impressive rides behind her at ACT and NSW Track Championships.
  • Jarrah Anderson (ACT) In his first season of track cycling, Anderson’s hard work and commitment over the past 12 months has ranked in the top four nationally. The Vikings Cycling Club rider will head into TrackNats as a genuine contender in the Sprint.
  • Deneaka Blinco (QLD) Deneaka is competing in her fourth and final Junior Track Championships, aiming to add to her medal collection in her first home championships.
  • Andrew Davies (QLD) After being part of the Queensland quartet that won silver in the Team Pursuit at the 2018 Track National Championships, Andrew is back on home-ground looking to go one better.