2020 Madison National Championships

The Australian Cycling Team and Podium Potential Academy members will headline the 2020 Madison National Championships at Melbourne Arena this Saturday 21 December. 


With the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games just eight months away, some of Australia’s best who are eyeing selection will head to Melbourne to contest the Olympic event at one of the world’s premier velodromes, Melbourne Arena.  


Australia’s team pursuit world champions and record-holders will pair up for battle with recent Brisbane Track World Cup Madison gold medallist Samuel Welsford (WA) to team with hometown hero and 2019 champion Kelland O’Brien (VIC).


Three-time world and defending national champion Leigh Howard (VIC) will form a new pairing this weekend when he partners with Cameron Scott (NSW) in the 17-team event. 


An exciting Australian Cycling Team Podium Potential Academy pairing aiming to upset their senior counterparts include Luke Plapp (VIC) and Godfrey Slattery (VIC). 


In the women’s Madison, a trio of Australia’s team pursuit world champions will be in action including triple 2019-20 World Cup Madison gold medalist Georgia Baker (TAS) who will team with dual reigning champion Kristina Clonan (QLD).


Ashlee Ankudinoff (NSW) will race with Clonan’s 2018 partner Macey Stewart (TAS), while Alexandra Manly (SA), who won gold with Baker at the Cambridge World Cup earlier this month, will team with defending champion Maeve Plouffe (SA). 


Podium Potential Academy teammates Alexandra Martin-Wallace (QLD) and Sophie Edwards (SA) will be another pairing to watch in the 13-team event. 


Victoria’s prestigious Austral Wheelrace (for both juniors and seniors) will also take place. 








MORE INFO melbournetrackcarnival.com