Day 2 – Gold to Clonan, Leahy & Whitehouse – AusCycling Track National Championships 

The second day of the 2020 AusCycling Track National Championships at the Anna Meares Velodrome in Brisbane on Thursday saw Australian Cycling Team’s Podium Potential Academy duo Conor Leahy and Kristina Clonan win gold, while National Road Series cyclist Georgia Whitehouse claimed maiden track nationals gold.

Fastest qualifier Conor Leahy (Western Australia) proved too strong in the Elite Men’s Individual Pursuit catching Liam Walsh (Queensland) in the final. Daniel Gandy (New South Wales) rounded out the podium with the bronze medal.

Kristina Clonan (Queensland) continued her successful switch from the endurance to the sprint ranks, winning the Elite Women’s Sprint. 

Clonan was the only rider to post a sub eleven-second ride in qualifying (10.931) before taking care of Selina Ho (New South Wales) in the semifinal, followed by Bree Hargrave (South Australia) in the final, both in two straight rounds. Ho won the bronze medal.  

National Road Series cyclist Georgia Whitehouse’s Track National debut did not disappoint with the New South Welsh rider winning the Elite Women Individual Pursuit by nearly six seconds over Amber Pate (South Australia).  

Victorian Alessia McCaig took a convincing win in the U19 Women’s 500m Time Trial, 1.29 seconds faster than Ella Sibley (South Australia) who claimed the silver medal. Desree Barnes (Queensland) rounded out the podium with the bronze medal. 

The Under 19 Men Madison’s podium saw hometown domination with Alastair Mackellar and Declan Tresize securing the top step, and James Panizza and Mitchell Yarde winning Bronze. The hometown duo’ was joined by South Australian’s Zack Marriage and Angus Miller. 

Competition was tight in the Under 19 Women’s Madison with the South Australian pairing of Alli Anderson and Kat Chun Orr securing gold with 30 points, whilst Queensland riders Brooke Carnes and Stephanie Corset placed silver on 27 points. 

Alessia McCaig (Victoria) added to her gold medal tally claiming her second for the day, this time in the U19 Women Keirin. In a close contest that went right to the line, Ella Sibley (South Australia) was unlucky to miss out on gold honours and had to settle for silver. Not far behind was Tyler Putzika (New South Wales) to claim the bronze medal. 

Danny Barber (New South Wales) continued his domination in the Under 19 events, collecting two more gold medals in the 1000m Time Trial and Keirin. 

Day 2 Champions 

U19 Women 500m Time Trial 

  • Gold: Alessia McCaig (Victoria) 
  • Silver: Ella Sibley (South Australia) 
  • Bronze: Desree Barnes (Queensland)  

U19 Women Madison 

  • Gold: South Australia Alli Anderson, Kat Chung Orr 
  • Silver: Queensland Brooke Carnes, Stephanie Corset  
  • Bronze: New South Wales Rebel Brooker, Emily Strumfin  

U19 Women Keirin 

  • Gold: Alessia McCaig (Victoria) 
  • Silver: Ella Sibley (South Australia) 
  • Bronze: Tyler Putzika (New South Wales) 

U19 Men 1000m Time Trial 

  • Gold: Danny Barber (New South Wales) 
  • Silver: Declan Trezise (Queensland) 
  • Bronze: Leo Zimmerman (South Australia) 

U19 Men Keirin 

  • Gold: Danny Barber (New South Wales) 
  • Silver: Maxwell Liebeknecht (South Australia) 
  • Bronze: Daniel Googe (New South Wales) 

U19 Men Madison 

  • Gold: Queensland Alastair Mackeller, Declan Trezise 
  • Silver: South Australia Zack Marriage, Angus Miller 
  • Bronze: Queensland James Panizza, Mitchell Yarde 

Elite Women Sprint 

  • Gold: Kristina Clonan (Queensland) 
  • Silver: Bree Hargrave (South Australia) 
  • Bronze: Selina Ho (New South Wales)

Elite Women Individual Pursuit 

  • Gold: Georgia Whitehouse (New South Wales) 
  • Silver: Amber Pate (South Australia) 
  • Bronze: Lauren Perry (Tasmania) 

Elite Men Individual Pursuit 

  • Gold: Connor Leahy (Western Australia) 
  • Silver: Liam Walsh (Queensland) 
  • Bronze: Daniel Gandy (New South Wales) 

2020 TrackNats Quick Guide 

Live Results, Daily Schedules & Rider Lists Follow all the action live at the official events results page  

Tickets A great range of tickets available At the door or online from just $10! Series and Family passes available via  

Website Keep up to date with the event via the official website 

Follow The action via the AusCycling social media channels at and