Four National records on the opening day of Para Track Nationals

Australia’s 2019 summer of track cycling opened in style with four new national records set as the time trials took centre stage on day one of the Para-cycling National Championships in Melbourne.  

2019 Para-cycling Time Trial National Champions  

Women’s (500m)

  • C1 Kaitlyn SCHURMANN (VIC) 50.031secs
  • C2 Amanda REID (NSW) 40.138secs
  • C3 Paige GRECO (SA) 39.617secs
  • C4 Emily PETRICOLA (VIC) 39.843secs
  • C5 Bronwyn DOLMAN (SA) 39.937secs

Men’s (1000m)

  • C1 Darcy THOMPSON (SA) 1min 20.656secs
  • C2 Gordon ALLAN (NSW) 1min 14.626secs
  • C3 David NICHOLAS (QLD) 1min 12.205secs
  • C4 Michael SHIPPLEY (QLD) 1min 07.862secs
  • C5 Daniel VAN DER LAAN (SUVelo) 1:07.882secs

Tandem (1000m)

  • Women’s Jessica Gallagher (VIC) & Pilot Madison Janssen (VIC) 1min 8.495secs
  • Men’s Brad Henderson (SA) & Pilot Lachlan Glasspool (SA) 1min 4.764secs


South Australia’s Paige Greco announced herself on the para-cycling scene with a stunning ride to win gold in the C3 500m final. Greco, a former stand out on the athletics track who has been cycling for little more than twelve months, clocked a new national record of 39.617secs.

“I am really happy, I certainly wasn’t expecting that time,” said Greco of her time which also smashed the existing world record.  However, as the Adelaide cyclist is still transitioning from athletics to cycling, she has not yet been internationally classified, the record cannot be ratified. “I have been working hard for this, was happy with my start today.”

In the men’s events, Gordon Allan (NSW) scorched the track to eclipse his own national record with a new mark of 1min 14.626secs to win the C2 one-kilometre final.

“I felt good coming into today, I have been doing quick times in training, and I felt better than I was twelve months ago,” said Allan, who finished fifth in the time trial at the 2018 World Championships while on his national team debut.

“You never know how it will pan out when you hit the track, but I have been doing a lot of solid training over the past twelve months in my first with season NSWIS.  The support from both NSWIS and the Australian Cycling Team has been amazing over the past year and hopefully, these good times continue.”

New national marks also went to Michael Shippley (QLD) who posted 1min 07.862secs to win the C4 one-kilometre final, and Amanda Reid (NSW) who recorded 40.138secs to win the C2 500m final.

World Championship time trial bronze medallist Emily Petricola (VIC) claimed gold in the C4 final, with Kaitlyn Schurmann (VIC-C1), Bronwyn Dolman (SA-C5), Darcy Thompson (SA-C1), David Nicholas (QLD-C3) and Daniel Van der Laan (SUVelo-C4) also celebrating gold in their events.

In the Tandem events, Jessica Gallagher (VIC) piloted by Madison Janssen (VIC), took gold in the one-kilometre final with a time of 1min 8.495sec.

“It was great to race on home soil today, it is a rare opportunity and also it is great to be integrated with the able-bodied athletes here too,” said Gallagher, who with Janssen represented Australia at the 2018 Commonwealth Games and claimed the 2016 sprint world title.

“We are very happy with the result today, we are working towards peaking for the World Championships next year so we were a little bit tired today from training.  So to get a time like that is really pleasing considering where we are heading.”

Brad Henderson (SA) and Pilot Lachlan Glasspool (SA) claimed the men’s crown in a time of 1min 4.764secs.

The Para Championships for the sprint and pursuit will be contested on Friday from 10am.

Para #TrackNats Quick Guide

  • What Tandem Championships in the time trial, sprint and pursuit; ‘C’ Championships in the time trial and pursuit.
  • Who Australia’s best para-cyclists
  • When
    • Thursday 13 December – Time Trial Results
    • Friday 14 December: Pursuits & Tandem Sprint. Qualifying from 10am, Finals from 4pm Results 
  • Where DISC Velodrome
  • Tickets Online at the door
  • Follow Results / #tracknats