Juniors: Meares in her house for day three

Photo Gallery courtesy Pete Dunlop –> Visit the CA Facebook gallery 

New South Wales continued on their gold medal hunt on day three and rode away with three gold, while Queensland and Victoria claimed one, at the 2019 Cycling Australia Junior Track National Championships at the Anna Meares Velodrome on Saturday.

The junior track national athletes were treated with a visit from four-time Olympian and Australian legend Anna Meares as the official ambassador of the Brisbane Cycling Festival. Meares took the time to talk to all of the competing states, providing words of encouragement and wisdom and presented the under 15 women’s individual pursuit riders with their medals.

Keira Will (NSW) claimed her second gold medal of the Championships with a victory in the under 15 women’s individual pursuit to add to her points race crown won on the opening day. Sally Carter (WA) took silver, and Eliza Carnes (QLD) took bronze.

“I was really glad that Anna Meares came and presented the medals this morning, everyone here aspires to achieve the things that she has in her sporting career, so having an Olympic and Commonwealth games present me my medal makes this Australian Junior National Title that little sweeter,” said Will.

Hayley Fuller (NSW) won silver in the under 17 points race in 2018, and today took the stop step of the podium winning gold with 18 points. Meg Marker (NT) and Sophie Marr (VIC) joined Fuller on the podium taking silver and bronze.

Conor Watson (QLD) claimed his first 2019 Cycling Australia Junior Track National Championships gold medal in the under 17 men’s point race with 14 points, two points ahead of Max Leiner (VIC), and five points ahead of Dalton Stretton (TAS).

The under 17 women’s team sprint event was hotly contested amongst Victoria and New South Wales, with both teams riding under the national record in qualifying rounds. Alessia McCaig and Lucinda Stewart (VIC) set the new national record, which they went on to rewrite in the finals.

McCaig and Stewart (VIC) were joined on the podium by Tyler Puzicha and Kalinda Robinson (NSW) winning silver, and Emma Stevens and Deneaka Blinco (QLD) winning bronze.

New South Wales again took the top step in the under 17 men’s team sprint with Daniel Barber and Dylan Eather winning gold. With almost one second separating gold and silver, Tarun Cook, Jackson Hadden and Jamie Hazelden (VIC) took the second step on the podium. The Queensland team sprint team Ryan Elliott, Ethan Harris and Brody Allison completed the podium in third place.


Moment of the day:

The junior Track National athletes were treated with a visit from four-time Olympian and Australian legend, Anna Meares.

Meares took the time to talk to all of the competing state’s athletes; signing medals, bags, and race numbers. She asked the junior athletes how their races had been going, celebrated their wins with high fives, and gave advice from her rich racing background.

The under 15 women’s 2000m individual pursuit podium were presented by Meares herself. Whilst it was special for Keira Will (NSW) and Sally Carter (WA), there was something extra special about Meares presenting her fellow Queenslander, Eliza Carnes with her bronze medal.

Summary of medallists:

JW15 2000m Individual Pursuit

  • Gold Keira Will (NSW)
  • Silver Sally Carter (WA)
  • Bronze Eliza Carnes (QLD)

JW17 12.5km Points Race Final

  • Gold Haylee Fuller (NSW) 18 Points
  • Silver Meg Marker (NT) 15 Points
  • Bronze Sophie Marr (VIC) 10 Points

JM17 12.5km Points Race Final

  • Gold Conor Watson (QLD) 14 Points
  • Silver Max Leiner (VIC) 12 Points
  • Bronze Dalton Stretton (TAS) 9 Points

JW17 Team Sprint

  • Gold Alessia McCaig & Lucinda Stewart (VIC)* Australian Record Broken
  • Silver Tyler Puzicha & Kalinda Robinson (NSW)
  • Bronze Emma Stevens & Deneaka Blinco (QLD)

JM17 Team Sprint

  • Gold Daniel Barber, Dylan Eather & Mitchell Hines (NSW)
  • Silver Tarun Cook, Jackson Hadden & Jamie Hazelden (VIC)
  • Bronze Ryan Elliott, Ethan Harris & Brody Allison (QLD)

Photos – See Facebook gallery here.