Juniors: NSW add five gold to tally

Photo Gallery courtesy Pete Dunlop –> Visit the CA Facebook gallery.

Following a four-gold medal haul on the opening day of the 2019 Cycling Australia Junior Track National Championships, New South Wales celebrated on day two with a further five gold, while Victoria claimed two at Brisbane’s Anna Meares Velodrome.

Daniel Barber (NSW) added a second gold of the Championships with victory in the Junior Men Under 17 500m Time Trial.

“I am currently the reigning New South Wales champion, so it was fantastic to come out today and post a PB [personal best] by four-tenths of a second to become the national champion,” said Barber, who claimed the Under 17 Sprint crown and the national record on the opening day.

New South Wales dominated the podium with Dylan Eather joining his fellow teammate, while Alexander Jones (VIC) took bronze.

Dreams came true in the Under 17 Women’s 2000m Individual Pursuit for Victoria’s Hayley Jenkins who won gold.

“When I was in the under 15 category, I came second so it has been a big goal and dream of mine to step onto the top step and win gold,” said Jenkins.

Claudia Marcks (ACT) and Alyssa Polites (NSW) each claimed their second medals for the Championships as they completed the podium.

In the Under 15 Men’s 7.5km Points Race, Benjamin Anderson (NSW) showed his form winning with an impressive 18 points.

“It was a very tough race, everyone gave it a good shot, I won the first sprint and missed out on the second, but was able to come home for the last one,” said Anderson.

Oscar Chamberlain (ACT) secured the silver medal, while Angus Gill (VIC) claimed the bronze medal.

Max Leiner (VIC) won his second gold medal in as many days when he defended his Under 17 Men’s 2000m Individual Pursuit title.

“As the defending champion, I definitely felt more pressure going into this race, but I took it on board and used it to go quicker and reclaim my title,” said Leiner.

Max was joined on the podium by Dylan Eather (NSW) and John Carter (WA) who won silver and bronze respectively.

Liliya Tatarinoff (NSW) won the under 15 women’s sprint in a gripping gold medal ride-off against Sally Carter (WA).

“Liliya did really well today, and it was great to watch her win and bring home a gold medal for New South Wales,” said Will.

Benjamin Anderson (NSW) took his third gold of the Championships in the Under 15 Men Sprint with Kobe Ormes (QLD) and Oscar Chamberlain (ACT) joining him on the podium.

New South Wales’ fifth gold of the day came through Kalinda Robinson in the Under 7 Women’s 500m Time Trial. Victorian teammates Lucinda Stewart and Alessia McCaig completed the podium.


Moment of the Day:

There was a bit of movement in pace in the JM15 7.5km Points Race with the speed increasing and decreasing. Eventually, the changes caught the better of some of the riders, and there was a touching of wheels in the bunch bringing down 13-year-old Wil Holmes from South Australia and two other riders. Wil was out for 2 or 3 laps while he and his bike were cleared to re-enter the race, with skin off his shoulder and leg. He re-entered the race, welcomed by a supportive crowd which gave him enough encouragement to catch the bunch on a bell lap with roughly 20 laps to go. When he caught the bunch, he made his presence known to his competitors with a gutsy effort on the front.

Summary of medallists:

JM17 500m Time Trial

  • Gold Daniel Barber (NSW)
  • Silver Dylan Eather (NSW) +0.37
  • Bronze Alexander Jones (VIC)

JW17 2000m Individual Pursuit

  • Gold Hayley Jenkins (VIC)
  • Silver Claudia Marcks (ACT)
  • Bronze Alyssa Polites (VIC)

JM15 7.5km Point Race

  • Gold Benjamin Anderson (NSW) 18 Points
  • Silver Oscar Chamberlain (ACT) 13 Points
  • Bronze Angus Gill (VIC) 4

JM17 2000m Individual Pursuit

  • Gold Max Leiner (VIC)
  • Silver Dylan Eather (NSW)
  • Bronze John Carter (WA)

JW15 Sprint

  • Gold Liliya Tatarinoff (NSW)
  • Silver Sally Carter (WA)
  • Bronze Keira Will (NSW)

JM15 Sprint

  • Gold Benjamin Anderson (NSW)
  • Silver Kobe Ormes (QLD)
  • Bronze Oscar Chamberlain (ACT)

JW17 500m Time Trial

  • Gold Kalinda Robinson (NSW)
  • Silver Lucinda Stewart (VIC)
  • Bronze Alessia McCaig (VIC)

Photos – See Facebook gallery here.