Juniors: Three national records highlight opening day

Photo Gallery courtesy Pete Dunlop.

New South Wales dominated the medal tally while Victoria took the honours in the team events, with three Australian records also broken on an exciting opening day of the 2019 Cycling Australia Junior Track National Championships at the Anna Meares Velodrome in Brisbane.

New South Wales claimed four of the eight gold medals on offer with their strength and prowess in the sprint events on display. Daniel Barber set the bar high and thrilled the crowd early in the day with a national record 10.724seconds in the Under 17 Men Sprint qualifying.

“I broke the Australian Record in the New South Wales State Championships, so it is a pretty amazing feeling to break your own record at the Junior National Championships,” said Barber.

Fellow New South Wales athletes Liliya Tatarinoff and Benjamin Anderson also took the top step on the podium in the Under 15 Men and Women respectively.

The nation’s junior sprinting stocks continued to shine with Victoria’s Alessia McCaig (11.683secs) breaking the Under 17 Women’s national record.

“I was 0.36 off the national record at the Victorian State Championships, so I trained really hard and made it my goal to break it at the Track National Championships,” McCaig said.

The opening day of the Cycling Australia Junior Track National Championships closed with a third national record.

The Victorian Under 17 Women’s Team Pursuit quartet of Sophie Marr, Alyssa Polites, Hayley Jenkins, and Lucinda Stewart caught their New South Wales rivals in the final in a national record time of 3mins 37.417secs.

Victoria also claimed gold in the JM17 3000m Team Pursuit through Tarun Cook, Jackson Hadden, Campbell McEwen and Max Leiner.

In other events, Liliya Tatarinoff (NSW) won the JW15 500m Time Trial, Kobe Ormes (QLD) took gold in the JM15 2000m Individual Pursuit, Benjamin Anderson (NSW) took the honours in the JM15 500m Time Trial, with Keira Will (NSW) winning the JW15 Points Race.

The 2019 Cycling Australia Junior Track National Championships is the opening event of the Brisbane Cycling Festival. 


Moments of the day:

Moment #1:

Ethan Harris has made it to the Track National Championships in fine form despite all of the odds. After the flooding that happened in his home town of Townsville, Ethan was unable to train for the following four weeks. Despite the unidyllic lead up to 2019 Track National Championships, Ethan dug deep in the Under 17 200m Sprint Qualifying, and only just missed his personal best!

Moment #2:

Three Queensland teammates from the under 17 Men’s 3000m Team Pursuit crashed early on in the race after riders touched wheels. Luckily no one was badly injured, with only superficial damage and grazing.

Unfortunately, one of the three was unable to finish the race, and teammate Timothy Richards stepped up and rode Queensland into the bronze final.

With sore bodies the Queensland team pushed through that final race of the evening, securing their bronze medal almost three seconds ahead of the Australian Capital Territory quartet.

Summary of medallists:

JW15 500m Time Trial

  • Gold Liliya Tatarinoff (NSW)
  • Silver Sally Carter (WA)
  • Bronze Keira Will (NSW)

JM15 2000m Individual Pursuit

  • Gold Kobe Ormes (QLD)
  • Silver Oscar Chamberlain (ACT)
  • Bronze Benjamin Anderson (NSW)

JM15 500m Time Trial

  • Gold Benjamin Anderson (NSW)
  • Silver Kobe Ormes (QLD)
  • Bronze Oscar Chamberlain (ACT)

JW17 Sprint

  • Gold Alessia McCaig (VIC) Broke Aust Record in Qualifying Rounds
  • Silver Kalinda Robinson (NSW)
  • Bronze Claudia Marcks (ACT)

JM17 Sprint

  • Gold Daniel Barber (NSW) Broke Aust Record in Qualifying Rounds
  • Silver Jarrah Anderson (ACT)
  • Bronze Jamie Hazelden (VIC)

JM17 3000m Team Pursuit

  • Gold Tarun Cook, Jackson Hadden, Campbell McEwen, Max Leiner (VIC)
  • Silver Dylan Eather, Daniel Barber, Luke Tuckwell, Ryan Britten (NSW)
  • Bronze Timothy Richards, Matthew Ashworth, Andrew Davies, Mitchell Lohmann (QLD)

JW17 3000m Team Pursuit

  • Gold Sophie Marr, Alyssa Polites, Hayley Jenkins, Lucinda Stewart (Vic) *Australian Record Broken
  • Silver Sarah Cliff, Haylee Fuller, Mia Wallace, Amelia Trkulja (NSW)
  • Bronze Isabelle Carnes, Caitlin Corset, Briana McDonald, Stephanie Leech (QLD)

JW15 Points Race

  • Gold Keira Will (NSW)
  • Silver Bronte Stewart (NSW)
  • Bronze Sally Carter (WA)