A four-event pure-endurance competition with all disciplines taking place in a single day. The four events are the scratch race, elimination race, points race and the tempo race.


Run over 10km for men, and 7.5km for women, the tempo race features a sprint on every lap after the first four laps, with the first rider across the line winning one point. Any rider that gains a lap on the main field is awarded 20 points, with any rider that loses a lap on the main field deducted 20 points.


In the scratch race, tempo race and elimination race, the winner of each event gets 40 points, with the second placed rider getting 38, third placed earning 36 points, and so on.

The final event of the omnium will be the points race – where there has been a slight tweak to the rules with double points are now in play in the final sprint. Taking a lap still earns a rider 20 points, while being lapped loses a rider 20 points.


Riders carry their points total from the first three events into the points race, where any points won or lost are added, or removed, from the total score. The omnium winner is the rider with the most points after four events.