Recap – 2020 Para TrackNats Day 1 – Brisbane

Australia’s 2020 summer of track cycling opened in style on Friday evening with Brisbane’s Anna Meares Velodrome hosting the 2020 Cycling Australia Para-cycling Track National Championships

Australia’s para-cycling stars were on show, with fantastic rides from reigning 500m time trial world champions Page Greco (SA) and Amanda Reid (NSW).

2020 Para-cycling Time Trial National Champions 

Women’s (500m)

  • C2 Amanda Reid (NSW) 39.809secs
  • C4 Emily Petricola (VIC) 40.190secs
  • C5 Bronwyn Dolman (SA) 40.313secs
  • C3 Paige Greco (SA) 40.416secs

Men’s (1000m)

  • C5 Daniel Van Der Laan (NSW) 1min 6.730secs
  • C3 David Nicholas (QLD) 1min 12.005secs
  • C2 Gordan Allan (NSW) 1min 13.143secs
  • C4 Patrick Best (TAS) 1min 13.692secs
  • AWII Nathan Glarvey (QLD) 1min 29.029secs

Tandem (1000m)

  • Brad Henderson (SA), Luke Zaccaria (Pilot) 1min 2.338secs
  • Rachel Henderson (SA), Jess Mundy (Pilot) 1min 12.434secs


South Australia’s Page Greco’s debut race on the boards of the Anna Meares Velodrome is one that she will remember forever as she raced to gold in the C3 500m final. 

It has been a huge twelve months for Greco which began at the 2019 Cycling Australia Para-Cycling Track National Championships where she set the bar high by smashing the existing world record. However, as the young athlete had not been internationally classified, it was not recognised. 

Fast forward a year, and Greco is a dual world champion on the road and track, on today she defended her C3 time trial national crown, proudly dressed in her rainbow jersey.  

“The 2020 Track World Championships is my next major goal,” said Greco, who is looking to defend her 500m time trial world record and crown at the 2020 Worlds in January Canada. “I am looking forward to building up my training, and working on the little things that make me go faster.”

New South Wales rider Amanda Reid rode a sizzling 500m time trial, winning gold in the C2 500m final with her time of 39.809secs close to her world record time. 

“Tonight my ride was only 0.3seconds off my world record time which is an awesome indicator this early in my build to 2020 Track World Championships in January,” said Reid. “We are coming into a Paralympic Games year in 2020, so my year will start off with the Track World Championships and then hopefully onto the Games after that.”

Emily Petricola claimed gold in the C4 500m time trial, with Bronwyn Dolman (SA-C5), and Georgia Powning (AWII – VIC) also celebrating gold in their events.

In the men’s events, 2019 World Championship time trial silver medallist Gordan Allan (NSW) claimed gold in the C2 final, with Daniel Van Der Laan (NSW-C5), David Nicholas (QLD-C3), Patrick Best (TAS-C4) and Nathan Glarvey (QLD-AWII) also taking the top step of the podium in their events.

In the Tandem events, Rachel Henderson (SA) piloted by Jess Mundy, took the gold in the one-kilometre final with a time of 1min 12.434sec. While Brad Henderson (SA) piloted by Luke Zaccaria claimed the men’s crown in the one-kilometre final in 1min 2.338sec.


  • What Tandem Championships in the time trial, sprint and pursuit; ‘C’ Championships in the time trial, pursuit, team sprint and scratch race. 
  • Who Australia’s best para-cyclists
  • When 
    • Fri 1 November- Time Trials – 4pm-6pm 
    • Sat 2 November- Pursuits & Tandem Sprint – 10am-1.30pm
    • Sun 3 November- Team Sprint / Scratch Race – 9am-2pm 
  • Where Brisbane’s Anna Meares Velodrome
  • Tickets At the door
  • Follow