Recap – 2020 Para Tracknats – Day 2

Individual pursuit national records to Darren Hicks (SA-C3) and Amanda Reid (NSW-C2) highlighted the second day of the 2020 Para-Cycling Track National Championships at Brisbane’s Anna Meares Velodrome. 

2020 Para-cycling Pursuit National Champions 


  • C5 Bronwyn Dolman (SA) 4min 4.156secs
  • C4 Meg Lemon (SA) 4min 1.028secs
  • C3 Paige Greco (SA) 4min 10.633secs
  • C2 Amanda Reid (NSW) 4min 21.808secs
  • AWII Georgia Powning (VIC) 5min 12.953secs


  • C5 Alastair Donohoe (VIC) 4min 41.922secs
  • C4 Patrick Best (TAS) 5min 22.107secs
  • C3 David Nicholas (QLD) 3min 32.483secs
  • C2 Darren Hicks (SA) 3min 40.253secs
  • AWII Nathan Glarvey (QLD) 4min 33.166secs


  • Kieren Murphy (SA), Locky Glasspool (Pilot) 4min 19.164secs
  • Rachael Henderson (SA), Jess Mundy (Pilot) 3min 40.142secs

 2020 Para-Cycling Tandem Flying 200 National Champions

  • Sophie Patton (SA), Isabella Dashourse (Pilot) 12.019
  • Brad Henderson (SA), Luke Zaccaria (Pilot) 10.183secs

2020 Para-Cycling Tandem Sprint National Champions

  • Brad Henderson (SA), Luke Zaccaria (Pilot) 11.06secs

It was South Australia’s Darren Hicks who stole the show in the C2 individual pursuit (IP) at the 2020 Para-Cycling Track National Championships with a stellar performance which saw him setting a new PB and the first national record of the championship event.

“Last year at the Para-Cycling Track National Championships I rode a 3:42.3 minute 4000m IP, and today I set a new national record with a personal best time of 3mins 40.253secs. I have been making a few changes to my bike, and today’s results have given me confidence that these changes are working really well and are bringing in good results,” said Hicks.

“I am looking forward to coming back to Brisbane for the Track World Cup this December, there should be a really good crowd here, and it would be incredible to go under 3:40 minutes!” said Hicks.

Victoria’s Alastair Donohoe donned his rainbow jersey for the first time on Australian soil to claim his first gold medal in his 2020 Para-Cycling Track National Championship campaign in the 4000m IP.

“This is my first time racing in this skinsuit on home soil since the 2019 Para-Cycling Track World Championships, it’s a pretty awesome feeling to wear the rainbow jersey,” said Donohoe.

Donohoe is looking forward to the challenge of focusing on the road and track training simultaneously in the build towards Tokyo Paralympics in 2020. “I have a big summer of cycling ahead of me kicking off with Track World Cup here in Brisbane at the Anna Meares Velodrome, then the Federation University Road Nationals at the start of January, and backing it up with Para Track World Championships at the end of January. 

“I am hoping that this load will help prepare me for what it will be like building up to road and track events at Tokyo in 2020,” said Donohoe.

C3 Pursuit reigning world champion David Nicholas claimed gold on home soil in the 3000m IP, with Patrick Best (TAS-C4), and Nathan Glarvey (QLD-AWII) also celebrating gold in their events.

In the women’s events, New South Wales’ Amanda Reid stole the limelight setting the second national record for the day and bettering her pre-existing national record in the C2 3000m IP. 

“I am pretty happy to take four seconds off my 3000m IP time today, and am looking forward to building on this time leading into the Brisbane Track World Cup this December,” said Reid.

C3 Pursuit reigning world champion Paige Greco (SA) celebrated gold in her rainbow jersey, while World Championship bronze medallist Meg Lemon (SA) took to the top step of the C4 3000m IP.

Bronwyn Dolman claimed gold in the C5 3000m individual pursuit, with Georgia Powning (VIC-AWII) also claiming gold in her event.

In the tandem events, Rachel Henderson (SA) piloted by Jess Mundy, took the gold in the 3km IP with a time of 3mins 40.142secs. While Kieren Murphy (SA) piloted by Locky Glasspool claimed the men’s crown in the 4km IP.

South Australia’s Sophie Patton piloted by Isabella Dashourse won the Tandem Flying 200m in a time of 12.019secs, while Brad Henderson (SA) piloted by Luke Zaccaria won the men’s Tandem Flying 200m in 10.183secs as well as the sprint event in a time of 11.06secs.

The Para-cycling Track National Championships concludes on Sunday with the sprint and scratch races.  

Para #TrackNats Quick Guide 

  • What Tandem Championships in the time trial, sprint and pursuit; ‘C’ Championships in the time trial, pursuit, team sprint and scratch race. 
  • Who Australia’s best para-cyclists
  • When 
    • Fri 1 November- Time Trials – 4pm-6pm 
    • Sat 2 November- Pursuits & Tandem Sprint – 10am-1.30pm
    • Sun 3 November- Team Sprint / Scratch Race – 9am-2pm 
  • Where Brisbane’s Anna Meares Velodrome
  • Tickets At the door
  • Results