Recap – 2020 Para Tracknats – Day 3

The 2020 Cycling Australia Para Track National Championships closed in style on Sunday with Emily Petricola breaking her own individual pursuit world record, while the scratch races and team sprints wrapped up the comp at Brisbane’s Anna Meares Velodrome. 

2020 Para-cycling Team Sprint National Champions  


  1. Gordan Allan (NSW), David Nicholas (QLD) and Michael Shippley (QLD) 51.953secs
  2. Mitchell Bails (SA), Patrick Best (TAS), Daniel Van Der Laan (NSW) 53.539secs
  3. Amanda Reid (NSW), Paige Greco (SA), and  Meg Lemon (SA) 59.766secs


  1. Rachel Henderson (SA), Brad Henderson (Pilot) 52.286secs
  2. Sophie Patton (SA), Kieran Murphy (Pilot) 53.092secs

2020 Para-cycling Scratch National Champions 


  • C2 Amanda Reid (C2)
  • C3 Paige Greco (SA) 
  • C4 Emily Petricola (VIC) 
  • C5 Bronwyn Dolman (SA)


  • C2 Darren Hicks (SA) 
  • C3 David Nicholas (QLD)
  • C4 Patrick Best (TAS)
  • C5 Daniel Van Der Laan (NSW)
  • AWII Nathan Glarvey (QLD)


Victoria’s Emily Petricola has a history of breaking, resetting and bettering her pursuit world record, and her ride today at Brisbane’s Anna Meares Velodrome was no different.

Petricola bettered her existing mark of 3mins 51.973secs by almost three seconds with a time of 3mins 48.210secs. “It was hard to predict how I was going to feel today as I was sick yesterday, but all the hard work has now paid off,” said Petricola. 

Petricola now sets her eyes on her next goals. “I am looking forward to coming back to Brisbane for the Brisbane Track World Cup, it’s great that we get to race in an event with able-bodied athletes.

“We are all really looking forward to being included in such a big international event! After the Brisbane Track World Cup, I will be focusing on Track World Championships in Canada,” added Petricola. 

In the scratch race, Petricola showed her world championship scratch race bronze medal pedigree, netting another gold medal. World championship scratch race silver medalist Paige Greco (SA-C3), Amanda Reid (SA-C2), and Bronwyn Dolman (SA-C5) also won gold in their respective races.

In the men’s scratch race, it was Queensland’s David Nicholas who stole the show in his rainbow jersey.

“With about eight laps to go, I was feeling pretty good so decided to attack. I rode off the front of the bunch, and kept half a lap ahead of the field all the way to the end,” said Nicholas. 

Unfortunately, Nicholas’ Queensland teammate Michael Shippley (C5) rode strongly throughout the whole race only to have his chain break with three laps to go, dashing his Para Track National Championships scratch race ambitions.  

Darren Hicks (SA-C2) claimed gold in the scratch race, with Patrick Best (TAS-C4), Daniel Van Der Laan (NSW-C5) and Nathan Glarvey (QLD-AWII) also claiming gold in their respective events. 

In the team sprint events, it was Godan Allen (NSW-C2), David Nicholas (QLD-C3), and Michael Shippley (QLD-C5) who took the top step of the podium with a time of 51.953secs. With only 1.19seconds separating gold from silver, Mitchell Bails (SA), Patrick Best (TAS-C4), and Daniel Van Der Laan (NSW-C5) won silver in a time of 53.947secs. The women’s team rounded the podium with Amanda Reid (NSW-C2), Paige Greco (SA-C3), and Meg Lemon (SA-C4) with a time of 59.766secs. 

In the tandem team sprint, it was South Australian duo Rachel Henderson piloted by Brad Henderson who was victorious across the finishing line at the Anna Meares Velodrome with a scorching time of 52.286secs.

The 2020 Para-Cycling Track National Championships closed with the announcement of the prestigious Champions of Champions jersey. Queensland’s own David Nicholas won the men’s champions of champions title after a highly successful campaign. “I always love racing here on home soil at the Anna Meares Velodrome, it is great having so many big events in our own backyard,” said Nicholas. 

The female 2020 Para-Cycling Track National Champion of Champions was jointly awarded to Paige Greco (SA-C3) and Bronwyn Dolman (SA-C5). 

“It is really exciting to receive and wear the Champion of Champions jersey, it will give me a lot of motivation working towards this December’s Brisbane Track World Cup,” said Greco. 

Dolman praised the 2020 Para-Cycling Track National Championships and echoed Greco in gaining confidence and motivation. “I have absolutely loved racing here at the Anna Meares Velodrome this Track National Championships, and especially enjoyed the inclusion of all categories in the scratch race. 

“Wearing the Champion of Champions jersey was one of my goals coming into this weekend of racing, so it is good to be wearing it, it will give me a lot of confidence and motivation for my next training block,” said Dolman. 

Para #TrackNats Quick Guide

  • What Tandem Championships in the time trial, sprint and pursuit; ‘C’ Championships in the time trial, pursuit, team sprint and scratch race. 
  • Who Australia’s best para-cyclists
  • When 
    • Fri 1 November- Time Trials – 4pm-6pm 
    • Sat 2 November- Pursuits & Tandem Sprint – 10am-1.30pm
    • Sun 3 November- Team Sprint / Scratch Race – 9am-2pm 
  • Where Brisbane’s Anna Meares Velodrome
  • Results