Saturday night Team Pursuit showdown

Australia’s team pursuit world record holders Samuel Welsford (WA), Alexander Porter (SA), plus Leigh Howard and Kelland O’Brien (VIC) swapped their green and gold Australian jerseys for their respective state teams colours at the Team Pursuit National Championships qualifying on Friday.

South Australia’s Porter, teamed with Joshua Harrison, Cooper Sayers and Jared Drizners to clock a stunning 3min 59.457secs before Howard and O’Brien, with Luke Plapp and Godfrey Slattery, lead defending champions Victoria to within two-tenths of a second (3:59.622) of their rival’s time.  

The Welsford lead Western Australia will face Cameron Scott’s NSW for bronze.

South Australia’s women also topped qualifying, with a stunning final lap comeback lead by Australian Cycling Team Podium Potential Academy member Maeve Plouffe.  The outfit was in fifth place heading into the bell lap, before surging to post the fastest time (4:33.935) to pip the Queensland outfit featuring Kristina Clonan and Alex Martin-Wallace (4:33.971) by three-hundredths of a second.

NSW and Victoria will race for the bronze medal.

The Madison, Team Sprint and Team Pursuit to feature in an action-packed night of racing at Melbourne Arena (CBD) on Saturday 15 December which will be live streamed on the Cycling Australia Facebook page and the Foxtel Go app.

Tickets are still available online at Ticketek or at the door.


Madison Teams  |