The men’s race is a three-lap, three-rider team time trial. After each lap, one rider drops out, leaving one man to race the final lap on his own. The women’s race is a two-lap, two-rider race. The two quickest teams in qualifying proceed to the gold medal, with the next two fastest going through to race for the bronze medal.