#TrackNats21 Day 4 Recap

Undefeated Richardson wins back-to-back national sprint championships 

Matthew Richardson successfully defended his Australian sprint title on Day 4 of the 2021 AusCycling Track National Championships in dominant fashion.

The Western Australian’s undefeated run to gold was a display of pure speed and sprinter’s instincts that highlighted his potential to be Australia’s next big star on the track.

The Australian Cycling Team member defeated Malaysian and former keirin world champion Mohd Azizulhasni Awang in the gold medal final.

The looming Olympic debutant is brimming with confidence in Brisbane and will hope to add a second green and gold jersey to his haul in the elite men’s keirin event on the final day of the Championships on Sunday.

Edwards wins maiden individual national title

Australian Cycling Team Podium Potential Academy member Sophie Edwards scored a milestone win in the gruelling elite women’s omnium, the first individual national title of her career.

The South Australian was neck and neck with Queensland’s Alexandra Martin-Wallace in the scratch and tempo portions of the omnium but asserted her authority on the field with a classy win in the elimination race.

Edwards was then placed under the microscope by 2021 U23 national road champion Emily Watts’ unrelenting attacks in the final points race.

Watts persisted with attacks as the lap count dwindled, but Edwards’ talent shone through to the finish to comfortably win the omnium green and gold jersey.

Edwards’ gold medal is her second of the Championships and continues South Australia’s dominance in this week’s elite women’s events.

The finish of the points race was heartbreak for Martin-Wallace, who lost her bronze medal finish to Tasmanian and fellow Podium Potential Academy member Lauren Perry on a countback after the final sprint.

Frislie triumphs in chaotic elite men’s scratch race 

A frenetic elite men’s scratch race with entertainment from start to finish shut the curtains on a super Saturday at Anna Meares Velodrome.

Victorian Graeme Frislie emerged unscathed and first across the line in a ferocious scratch race that had the crowd on the edge of its seat.

From the gun, the pressure was on for the elite men courtesy of a daring but unsuccessful attempt to gain a lap from Haddon Kilmartin.

The intensity never wavered and would culminate in a series of courageous one-out attacks by firstly Jordan Villani and then Josh Duffy, who looked at one stage to have the win all wrapped up.

A rapid chase led by eventual silver medallist Oliver Bleddyn reeled Duffy back in on the final passing of the back straight, leading to a moment of chaos which ended with Frislie crossing the line for the national title and Blake Agnoletto, Declan Trezise and Jensen Plowright laying on the Anna Meares Velodrome boards.

All three riders were thankfully unscathed from major injuries in the incident.

Clonan makes it three 

Queensland’s sprint queen Kristina Clonan notched a trifecta of individual national titles on Day 4 by adding the elite women’s keirin to her quiver.

Clonan hit the front early in the keirin 1-6 final and never wavered in speed despite a valiant effort from Felice Beitzel, who would finish second, as well as Lara Tucker.

The sprint sensation has a chance to win a fourth gold medal today in the elite women’s team sprint as a member of the Queensland team.

They said it 

“I’m so excited, I went into today with not too many expectations – just wanted to give it a really good crack, and I’m absolutely over the moon. It’s my first solo national title, so I’m so excited to have earnt it today.” – Sophie Edwards

“It’s good to go back-to-back. The legs were in there in the end for that final round against Awang. It’s awesome to race the Malaysians, they really bring something else to the track, and it’s good learning.” – Matthew Richardson

“I saw Lara come around and thought, oh, this is going to hurt, and it did – but yeah, it was good. It was a proactive race with people trying things. This is the place to try it, and I just think that’s great. I just love when people are gutsy.” – Kristina Clonan

“It was action right from the gun with attacks going … and everyone was really on the limit at the end. Duffy had a big move there with five laps to go and almost stayed away, and unfortunately, there was a bit of a fall there at the end, but I’m pretty happy that I managed to get through it and come away with the win.” – Graeme Frislie

Medallists Day 4 

Event 83a: Under 19 Women Individual Pursuit Bronze Final
8 Laps 2000m – Result 

Sophie MARR (VIC)

Event 83b: Under 19 Women Individual Pursuit Gold Final
8 Laps 2000m – Result 

Claudia MARCKS (ACT)

Event 90: Under 19 Men Omnium Points Race
80 Laps 20km – Result 

Cameron ROGERS (ACT)
Tarun COOK (VIC)

Event 91a: Elite Men Sprint Bronze Final

Muhummas SHAR (MYS)

Event 91b: Elite Men Sprint Gold Final


Event 92b: Elite Women Keirin Final 1-6
– Result 

Kristina CLONAN (QLD)

Event 95: Elite Women Omnium Points Race
80 Laps 20km – Result 

Lauren PERRY (TAS)

Event 96: Elite Men Scratch Race Final
60 Laps 15km – Result 



 About #TrackNats21  

The AusCycling Track National Championships will feature 38 national titles contested over five days of cycling action at the Anna Meares Velodrome from 24-28 March and headlines the 2021 Brisbane Cycling Festival schedule, which will run 24 March – 12 April.

It is supported by the Queensland Government through Tourism and Events Queensland, and the Brisbane City Council through Brisbane Economic Development Agency, and features on the It’s Live! in Queensland events calendar.

Live Streaming

The Championships will be live-streamed via the AusCycling YouTube channel and SBS Cycling Central’s Facebook Page.

  • Thursday 25 March 2021 6.30pm AEST (7.30pm AEDT)
  • Friday 26 March 2021 6.30pm AEST (7.30pm AEDT)
  • Saturday 27 March 2021 6.30pm AEST (7.30pm AEDT)
  • Sunday 28 March 2021 11am AEST (12pm AEDT)

Quick Links